• News

We’re thrilled that our past winner, Naomi Alderman has won the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction with her fourth novel The Power (Viking).

Tessa Ross, 2017 Chair of Judges for the prize, said: The judges and I were thrilled to make this decision. We debated this wonderful shortlist for many hours but kept returning to Naomi Alderman’s brilliantly imagined dystopia – her big ideas and her fantastic imagination.

Alderman’s win comes a decade after her debut novel Disobedience, won the Young Writer of the Year Award.

(image shamelessly borrowed from the Baileys Prize)



Young Writer Award @YoungWriterYear

Follow us on twitter. The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award, in association with the University of Warwick is a prize of £5,000 for a writer under 35.